Published On: Mon, Aug 19th, 2019

All-Ireland Football Championship records and statistics worth knowing

The All-Ireland Football Championship comes to a head on Sunday 1st September when Dublin and Kerry battle it out for supremacy and the Sam Maguire Cup. The final will be contested by two of the biggest clubs in the history of Gaelic football and in All Ireland Football Winner betting odds, you’ll find Dublin the outright favourites to win the title.

But it’s their opponents and long-standing rivals Kerry that are the most successful team in the Championship. Want to know all the records and statistics ahead of the final? Read on so you have something to talk about come game day.

Most successful county
This year’s finalists Kerry are the most successful county team when it comes to the All-Ireland Football Championship. They’ve won 37 titles since their first Championship in 1903 – and also have come runner-up 22 times, which is also a record.

Kerry last won the Championship in 2014, when they overcame Donegal 2-9 – 0-12; while the following year was the last time they made a final. They lost in 2015 to Dublin, 0-12 – 0-9.

Fellow finalists Dublin are second in the list, with 28 wins in the final and 13 runner-up finishes. Dublin won the title last year, for the fourth year in a row – and should they be successful next month at Croke Park, The Dub will break the record for the most consecutive victories.

Most successful province
Understandably, Kerry’s success contributes to Munster topping the list of leading provinces – with 91 finals appearances, winning 50 of those. Away from the feats managed by Kerry, Cork have chipped in with seven titles and 16 runner-up finishes, while Tipperary (more well-known for their achievements in Hurling) have four titles and one runner-up finish.

Leinster come a close second, but also match Munster with 50 titles, but they have 38 runner-up finishes, totalling 88 appearances in the Championship finals. Of those 88, Dublin have won the Championship 28 times (coming runner-up a further 13), while Meath have won seven finals and Wexford, five.

Inter-Province finals
There have only been three occasions where the All-Ireland final has been contested by two teams from the same province – and all of these have been since the turn of the century. In 2003, it was an all-Ulster final, with Tyrone and Armagh meeting and the former winning 0-12 – 0-9.

The 2007 and 2009 finals were contested between Kerry and Cork, representing Munster – and on both occasions, Kerry were victorious. The 2007 final saw Kerry win by 10 points, while two years later, their margin of victory was four points.

Biggest winning margins
In recent years, the margin of victory for the champions has been minimal, with anything between one and six points separating the sides. However, you’ll need to look back as far as the first third of the 1900s to see the most one-sided victories.

The highest points margin was set in 1911, with 19 points separating Cork and Antrim. In the 1930s, Mayo and Kerry were victorious by 18 points over Laois (1936) and Monaghan (1930), respectively. If we look at All-Ireland finals since the turn of the millennium, 2006 saw the biggest margin of victory, with Kerry beating Mayo 1-20 – 2-9, by 13 points.

Leave a comment

XHTML: You can use these html tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

Most Popular Posts

Recent Post